Kneehill County Fire Ban – Effective Immediately

EFFECTIVE APRIL 11, 2019 . . . a Fire Ban has been issued for Kneehill County, due to the dry and windy spring conditions.

All fire permits are suspended or cancelled and no new fire permits will be issued.

No campfires (or other open fires) are allowed in campgrounds or backcountry and random camping areas. This includes charcoal briquettes. Gas or propane stoves/barbeques and portable propane fire pits are allowed.

This includes the Kneehill County hamlets (Torrington, Huxley, Sunnyslope, Hesketh, Swalwell) and campgrounds.

Please check our Fire Ban page for updates and links.

Black Knot

There are many trees and shrubs around town that are infected by Black Knot disease.  This fungus will continue to grow and will release spores that will infect neighbouring trees.

The Town of Trochu suggests that you prune or have these trees removed to minimize further spread of the disease.  They can be hauled to the town’s transfer site and thrown into the burn pits where they will be incinerated to prevent further infection.  Early spring or late fall is a good time for seeing the infection and pruning.

More information can be found here on the Government of Alberta’s website.


2019 Provincial General Election!

The 2019 Alberta Election will be held Tuesday, April 16th, 2019, and there will be a Polling Station at the Trochu Baptist Fellowship Centre that day from 9am to 8pm.

The Advanced Poll will be held from April 9th to 13th, 2019, and the nearest Polling Station will be in Three Hills at the Provincial Building, daily from 9am to 8pm.

If you have any questions or are looking for more Polling Station locations, please visit the Elections Alberta website.